top of page

THAT´S NEW

Kunsthalle Wien_come as you are_Ausstellungsdoku-015.jpg
Come as you are
- Preis der Kunsthalle Wien

15. April - 1. September 2024

„Anne Schmidts vielseitiges Werk gipfelt in ihrer Diplomarbeit Strahlte, Geschöpf, Champagner, zottig, Klumpen, 2023 in der neben der Künstlerin selbst riesige Eiszapfen-Skulpturen, ein kettensägiges Prokrastinationsschwein, 2023, der autofiktionale Roman Me after two anal orgasms, 2024 und Tennisbälle zu sehen sind.

 

Schmidts präzise und energische Auseinandersetzung mit normativen Bildern des Begehrens in der kapitalistischen Konsumgesellschaft und ihre gründliche kreative Hinterfragung der institutionellen Logik spiegeln ihren Hintergrund als Aktivistin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin wider.“ Astrid Peterle Kuratorin

 

Kunsthalle Wien Karlsplatz

Foto: Klaus Pichler

DSC04977.JPG

What happened to grandma will happen to you, 2024

 

Film 3:17 Min

 

​Medienfrische Festival für Medien Kunst, Boden

Relikte eines gewesenen Lebens. Konservierung von zumeist nicht Sichtbarem. Das Warten zwischen Sein und Vergehen.

Anne Schmidt schreibt die Vergänglichkeit des menschlichen Körpers in den Raum ein, lässts daraus ein Wechselspiel von Abwesenheit und Präsenz, von Endlichkeit und Unendlichkeit entstehen. Die Zeit zwischen Leben und Vergehen, zwischen Sein und Tod wird dadurch im Raum sichtbar. Es entstehen intime Einblicke in das Vergehen eines Lebens. 

Press Release: Miriam Unterthiner

Fotocredits: Katja Striedlmeyer

DSC03338.JPG

Untitled (Mirror, My S Ex is bed, Fathers, Shareholders, Resident Evil), 2024

Film10:23 Min

Medienfrische Festival für Medien Kunst, Boden

Untitled (Mirror, My S Ex is bed, Fathers, Shareholders, Resident Evil) ist die erste kollektive Arbeit der international renommierten Künstlerinnen Anne Schmidt und Daria Melnykova. Darin geben sie erstmalig intime Einblicke in ihren Seins- und Wirkungsort in Boden, den sie sich für die Dauer der Ausstellung nicht nur miteinander, sondern gleichsam mit dem Publikum teilen. 

 

Die Schwelle der Tür markiert dabei das Ablegen des gegenwärtigen Zeiterlebens, die Grenze zwischen Jetzt und Damals. Die Arbeit lädt dazu ein, gemeinsam mit den Künstlerinnen das eigene siebzehnjährige Erleben auf unmittelbare und ehrliche Art wiederzuentdecken, sich der Ausgesetztheit und Schutzlosigkeit dieses Raumes auszusetzten, um das im Raum schwelende Gefühlsleben zuzulassen. Aus dem Inneren des Siebzehnjährigen Körpers dringen Geräusche nach außen und lassen die Welt des Jetzt mit jener der Siebzehnjährigen interagieren. 

 

Press Release: Miriam Unterthiner

Fotocredits: Vitaly Vankovy

bottom of page

top of page

THAT´S NEW

Kunsthalle Wien_come as you are_Ausstellungsdoku-015.jpg

"Anne Schmidt’s protean œuvre culminates in her thesis installation Radiated, Creature, Champagne, ragged, Lump, 2023 which stars giant ice-cream-cone sculptures, a chainsawed Procrastination pig the autofictional novel Me after Two Anal Orgasms, and tennis balls as well as the artist herself.

 

Schmidt’s precise and vigorous engagement with normative images of desire in capitalist consumer society and probing creative scrutiny of institutional logics reflects her background as both an activist and a scholar of culture."

Astrid Peterle Curator Kunsthalle Wien

Kunsthalle Vienna Karlsplatz

Photo: Klaus Pichler

DSC04977.JPG

What happened to grandma will happen to you, 2024

 

Film 3:17 min

 

​Medienfrische Festival for Media Art, Boden

Relics of a past life. Preservation of the mostly invisible. Waiting between being and passing away.

Anne Schmidt inscribes the transience of the human body into the space, creating an interplay of absence and presence, of finiteness and infinity. The time between life and decay, between being and death becomes visible in the space. The result is intimate insights into the passing of a life. The question of the benefits of our transient togetherness stares inexorably at the audience in the form of a socket.

Text: Miriam Unterthiner

Fotocredits: Katja Striedlmeyer

DSC03338.JPG

Untitled (Mirror, My S Ex is bed, Fathers, Shareholders, Resident Evil), 2024

Film10:23 min

Medienfrische Festival for Media Art, Boden

Untitled (Mirror, My S Ex is bed, Fathers, Shareholders, Resident Evil) is the first collective work by internationally renowned artists Anne Schmidt and Daria Melnykova. For the first time, they provide intimate insights into their place of being and working in Boden, which they share not only with each other but also with the public for the duration of the exhibition. 

The threshold of the door marks the discarding of the present experience of time, the boundary between now and then.

The work invites you to rediscover your own seventeen-year-old experience together with the artists in a direct and honest way, to expose yourself to the exposure and defencelessness of this space in order to allow the emotional life smouldering in the room. Sounds emerge from within the seventeen-year-old body and allow the world of the now to interact with that of the seventeen-year-old.

Text: Miriam Unterthiner

Fotocredits: Vitaly Vankovy

bottom of page